Leinster Junior Cup (1) -1920

Provincial Towns Cup (5) - 1955, 1959, 1986, 2001, 2002

Provincial Towns Plate (2) - 2001, 2017

Leinster League Div 1A (2) - 2002/2003, 2003/2004

Leinster League Div 1B (2) - 2014/15, 2017/18

Leinster League Div 2A (1) - 2012/13

J1 South East League (10) - 1969, 1970, 1980, 1981, 1987, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007

Provincial 2nds Towns Cup (7) - 1983, 1984, 1998, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005

Provincial 2nds Div 1 League (2) - 2001/02, 2003/03

Provincial 2nds Div 2A League (1) - 2010/11

J2 South East League (4) - 1989, 2001, 2005, 2011

Metropolitan Div 11 J3 League (1) - 2014/15

Metropolitan Div 10 J3 League (1) 2015/16

Provincial 4ths, Dunne Cup (3) 2006, 2017, 2018

Gale Cup U19 / U20 (1) - 1993

Culleton Cup U17 (1) - 1982

Mc’Auley Cup U17 (1) - 1989

McGowan Cup U14 (3) - 1977, 2005, 2009

We are proud of our History and the legacy that we have built over the years. Below you will see the teams and the victorious that have won cups and leagues for Kilkenny RFC. 



2003 proved to be another highly successful year for the Club.
The 1st XV retained the Leinster League but again lost out in the play- offs for the AIL, beating Westport but losing narrowly to Ards and Bruff.
The 2nd XV had a fabulous season, retaining the Leinster League and winning the Towns Cup.

Greencore Towns Cup Winners 2002.jpg


2002 was to prove the most successful season in the Club's history.
The all conquering 1st XV won the South East League, the Provincial Towns Cup was retained with Carlow beaten in the Final, and the Leinster League was won for the first time.
Ger McDonald again was Coach and the team was Captained by Willie Mahony, who won his third Towns Cup medal with Kilkenny.
Winning the Leinster League gave Kilkenny the chance to play-off for promotion to the AIL.Kilkenny beat Highfield and Westport in the play offs but lost narrowly to Queens University Belfast to lose out on promotion.
The 2nd XV also captured the Leinster League in 2002 to round off a fantastic year for the club.

J2 Leinster League Winners 2002.jpg



J2 SEL Winners 2001.jpg


Finals were lost in 1987 and 1998 before Kilkenny won the Provincial towns cup again, in 2001.  A late Dave McMahon penalty won a close fought match against Portlaoise in Carlow.  The team accounted for Mullingar, Tullamore and Ashbourne on their way to the final.

Simon Manuel captained the team that narrowly lost out on winning the Leinster League as well.  Willie Mahony was the only survivor from the '86 team that also included coach Ger McDonald.

Provincial Towns Cup Winners 1986.jpg


Kilkenny had to wait for 27 years, until 1986, before the trophy was won again.  Kilkenny faced The Curragh in the final having beaten Navan, North Kildare, Portlaoise and Arklow along the way.  The final was held in Drogheda and Kilkenny ran out winners 10-0.

The scorers were, Willie Mahony and Nicky Mcgrath with Paddy O'Driscoll converting a try.  The team was captained by Mick McGrath and also included Ger McDonald, International Ned Byrne, Charlie Phelan, Joe Reidy and Murt Crotty.

Provincial Towns Cup Winners 1959.jpg


Four years later in 1959 Kilkenny won the trophy again.  Kilkenny had the services of International Jack Notley at out-half.  Jack captained the team in a year when they were never beaten by any Junior side.

Old rivals Carlow were Kilkenny's opponents in the semi-final and it took two games and extra time to decide the issue.  

In the final, North Kildare were again the opposition and a drop goal from Jack Notley was the only score of the match.  Frank Fenelly, Paddy Kavanagh, Andy Henderson and Syl Gaffney were the survivors from the '55 team.



In 1955 Kilkenny won the Provincial Towns Cup for the first time.  The team had a fantastic record, losing only one match all season.  In winning the Cup their line was crossed only once.

The team contained some of the great names of Kilkenny rugby, Joe Hehir, Andy Henderson, Syl Gaffney and Paddy Kavanagh to name just four.

Kilkenny beat North Kildare in the final after a replay.



The earliest mention of a rugby club in Kilkenny was in 1886, although rugby may have been played in the Marble City prior to this date.

One of the reports of the time tells that in 1889 a team left Carlow, by the afternoon train, to play a match the following day, against 'Kilkenny County and City Football Club' at Dukes Meadows, by kind permission of the most noble Marquis of Ormonde.

The 'Sentinel' report of the match tells us that Kilkenny won a 'very rough match' by one try to nil.

Kilkenny played at St James' Park from the early 1900's until 1974 when they moved to their present ground at Foulkstown, opening their new clubhouse in 1976.

The Leinster Junior Cup was the fore runner of the Provincial Towns Cup and after many years of trying Kilkenny finally won it in 1920.  

The final took place in Lansdowne Road and Kilkenny beat old rivals Enniscorthy 3-0.Among the team were Billy Gregory, Billy Kenealy, Dick Duggan and famous Kilkenny hurler Dr. J.J. Brennan.